High Five Jesus

Y155

I love when small Italian towns have festivals. They go all out when decorating their elaborate statues. I don’t remember what town we were in but as I dragged everyone into this beautiful church to check out the artwork, I noticed something pretty interesting. Once, in high school, on a trip to the Philly art museum, my teacher explained that certain religious painters took liberties with patterns and colors because they were commissioned by fabric makers who wanted to show off their wares.

I talked to the priest and he confirmed my suspicions about this statue by telling me that the pattern and illustration on the Jesus’ covering were indeed unique  to the artist who was (surprise surprise), a fabric and textile maker.

Way to go high school art teacher.

One thought on “High Five Jesus

Leave a Reply

