Church Candles

IMG_4837

I may not be incredibly religious but I love the little electric prayer lights found in churches.

For those not familiar with these, in older churches there are usually electric candles placed under a saint statue. You put an offering in a small tin (complete with awesome cling noise), say a small prayer (or just a moment of silence), and then push a little button. One of these lights come on (as well as a small buzzing noise from the incredibly old motor if you’re lucky) and you go about your way.

If I’m ever in a church that has electric candles, I make sure to throw some quarters in the offering bin for some of the people I’ve lost in my life that were incredibly special to me, and I wait for the lights to come on. For some reason there is something I love about this incredibly antiquated leftover.

Me and the little old ladies dressed in black.

Leave a Reply

