You Can Call Us Aaron Burr From The Way We’re Droppin’ Hamiltons (In Weehawken, NJ)

When I lived in Clifton, I would often take rides to Mitsuwa for some sesame ice cream. Without knowing it…I’ve DRIVEN PAST THIS. Seriously…when I looked at my gps map, my jaw dropped because I had driven past this little tiny road a million times. On a tiny road off of the main street, lives the death rock of Alexander Hamilton.

IMG_5560

This is the rock (behind the pillar) that Alexander Hamilton laid his head on after his fatal duel with Aaron Burr. It still blew my mind that I was standing in the spot where this famous duel happened. It’s cool to imagine what it would have looked like.

IMG_5564

I wish it wasn’t behind this gate, but I understand why it is. It was so cool to see this piece of history and I can’t lie that it gave me some goosebumps just looking at it (and yes….I looked for some dried blood..but honestly I doubt there’d be any you could see anymore).

IMG_5570

There is an amazing view of New York from this spot and I sat on the steps and had a snack with this wonderful view in front of me. I couldn’t help but think of Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist. If you’ve never seen this movie, I highly recommend it.

IMG_5563

Leave a Reply

