Artichokes

IMG_4468

I have never seen an artichoke plant. I don’t remember ever seeing these when I was growing up but my mom swears that they’ve been there since she was a kid. I l could eat artichokes all day but my mom explained that once the flower blooms, it is too late to pick.

I love the way artichokes grow flowers though…it’s beautiful, dangerous (those leaves get sharp when they are dried out) and the color of the fading purple on the actual artichoke looks like an artist painted it. Quite sinister and absolutely stunning.

My kind of flower… 😉

Leave a Reply

