Cemetery Gate Compositions in Color and Black and White

There are some pictures that work better in black and white but I’ve finally come across a picture where I can’t decide if I think the black and white or color is better. I took a picture of the cemetery gate in Arielli while I was in Italy and as I was editing the picture I realized that both the black and white version as well as the color version bring something unique to the table.

IMG_4422 (2)

This is the original picture I took. It is a far more hopeful picture in color. The pop of green just outside the gate is welcoming and inviting you out into the world.

IMG_4422

The black and white picture brings out the shadows in the picture. It feels a little more ominous but you notice the details more: the circles in the bottom of the gate, the cross at the top. The background takes a backseat to the door, and the light and dark has a completely different point of view than the picture with color.

I love both pictures equally for different reasons and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to choose.

One picture, two emotional outputs. I love photography.

Leave a Reply

