Emperor Norton’s Stationary Marching Band – Candid Shot

YES 66

My goal as a photographer (and let’s be honest, in life as well) is to become well-rounded. I don’t believe in pigeon-holding myself into a single category, but instead try to master a little bit of everything (Bard lifestyle ftw!).

When it comes to photography I push myself to try out all different kinds of styles. I have done nature photos, animal photos, cemetery photos and still life’s. As I find my groove with each of those, I try to incorporate more things. I am not a very strong photographer of people, which comes from lack of subjects, inability to open my mouth and ask, and just plain lack of experience.

When I do take pictures of people though, I love candid shots. I love capturing people at their most natural, in moments when they are most relaxed.

I love this picture of Emperor Norton’s Stationary Marching Band. Capturing the flute player in the middle of a moment doing what she does best. I hope one day I can master this style of photography and create lots of magical pictures.

8 thoughts on “Emperor Norton’s Stationary Marching Band – Candid Shot

  1. That is a great shot and I love the expressed sentiment in your comments. I will try pretty much anything and have done art in most mediums and genres. Travel, action, shadows, and the world around me develops my art. I love photography but have trouble doing it, not from a lack of ability, just a lack of actually carrying the camera and using it. You show the skill and like me, just need to press that little button more often at the subjects that strike our fancy. I feel the same way about a lot of things…just act, think later, all this thinking is holding me back.

    1. Thank you so much!

      Yeah…I’ve found that I’ve become bolder in the past two years but there is still more I need to push myself with. But I love meeting other people who share the same passions like me, there’s nothing better than being inspired by everything in the world. 🙂

      haha it would be so great if cameras could be implanted. I have the same issue sometimes, I don’t always carry my camera around (like when I go for runs) and I know I’ve missed stuff.

      1. No tears! Your blog is fantastic to read, and the pictures are just phenomenal. Seeing your pictures makes me want to go back and pick up my Canon again.

      2. Thank you…thank you so much, that means so much to me.

        You should! I love the pictures you’ve been posting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

