Project 365: Day 219 – May 5, 2013

May 5

I was a very very busy bee this weekend! I had plans to finally plant my flowers but I took a spin to the flea market this morning first to look for a surprise for Patrick because he was running a marathon this morning. That flea market trip turned into a Peddler’s Village trip because one of the women I was chatting with at the flea market told me there was a strawberry festival there today. I am a strawberry fiend so since I was already in the vicinity, I went and checked it out. But I still made sure to stop on the way home and pick up seeds for my flower boxes. I tried to find some unique flowers and ended up getting what I hope will make for an amazing addition to my deck. I ended up getting Lillies (my favorites), Sunflowers (second favorites), Lavender, foxglove,  and two other flowers that I can’t remember. I pretty much just grabbed a bunch of hearty perennials that I don’t really see often.

I hope these guys grow, the woman who owned the house before I bought it let the boxes overgrow with rosemary and weeds so I had a lot of work to do. I don’t mind though, I love gardening. When my parents have to plant their garden they always used to make me do it because I love it. There is a distinct smell that the soil has after you till it that I just love. I think it reminds me of my grandparents’ farm in Italy, and it’s definitely a smell that brings me back to happy memories.

This lily was already sprouting in the box so I’m hoping that’s a good sign. I can’t wait to see these boxes explode in color in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

