Project 365: Day 218 – May 4, 2013

May 4

It was so beautiful out today, I just had to go to the beach. I drove out to Asbury Park hoping that it would be nice enough to lay out for a bit and just enjoy the weather. It felt so nice to sit by the ocean and listen to the waves, and feel the sun on my painfully pale (though technically still tan-ish, thank god for being Italian) skin. There were a lot of people walking along the ocean and it was really nice to see people coming back to Asbury after Hurricane Sandy. Everyone out today had a story. I met a couple that were coming back to Asbury for the first time since the hurricane and were excited that their special spot on the beach (where the girl was proposed to) was spared destruction, and a guy who had lost just about everything but wanted to come back to the beach in order to make peace with his demons.

After I laid out for a few hours I decided to walk down to my favorite spot on the boardwalk to see if it was still there, the Pinball museum. This place is wall to wall pinball machines and for 10 bucks you can play for an hour. During the colder months…5 bucks. It is my heaven.

On the way to the museum though (which is still standing and didn’t seemed harmed at all by the hurricane, hey…maybe mother nature is a gamer at heart?) I found these cans with cacti in them near some of the buildings that were not so fortunate. It really made me smile and I just had to take a picture of them. Cacti are resilient and beautiful, just like Asbury.

Leave a Reply

