Mysterious Door – New York City, NY

door USED

Don’t ever think you need a fancy camera when you’re first starting out pursing your dream of being a photographer. So many people forget that it’s not always the quality that matters, but learning to develop an eye and a style. Just because you own a high quality and expensive camera, doesn’t automatically make you a good photographer. When I was starting to follow this dream seriously, I didn’t have money to go out and buy a new camera, I only had a hand-me-down point and shoot 7MP ratty old camera to use and my collection of manual cameras (oh yeah…I was using manual before it was cool with hipsters….damn pre-hipster tendencies!). It wasn’t until only a few years ago that I was able to save up enough money and purchase a good camera.

While the quality may not be up to par for some people’s tastes, the picture is no less worthy of distinction. It didn’t stop me from entering it into contests and it didn’t stop the picture from winning a recognition spot with a local ‘zine. Don’t ever let people tell you that you are not a photographer because you haven’t spent hundreds on a camera. That doesn’t impact whether or not your eye for composition, color, staging and talent is good, as a good camera can only take you so far and cannot create miracles if you can’t do any of the aforementioned. If you love photography and want to pursue it, learn to develop your style on anything you can (even a camera phone), and then when you’re ready, save up and get something better. That better camera won’t “make” you a photographer, it’ll just help you get better with every picture.

….I was supposed to talk about doors. Well…better late than never. I love doors. I love mysterious doors that are locked, that are a mystery, that just are. I think it’s why I am so attached “Neverwhere” by Neil Gaimen. I read it in high school and it has really never left my side since.

“It starts with Doors…”

Leave a Reply

