“Brandy, you’re a fine girl/What a good wife you would be” (In New Brunswick, NJ)

I love old graves, this is fairly obvious if you’ve been following my blog for a while. I especially love graves in weird places. When I was in North Carolina, I found a lot of graves just in people’s backyards and I love it when there are old graves that civilization has grown around. In New Brunswick there is a very famous grave is a very strange place. Most people know of the song “Brandy” by Looking Glass but what they might not know is that the song is based on a real woman who is buried in New Brunswick, NJ. The funniest part is that I have been to her grave about 100 times and not known it. In the back of Loews Multiplex on Rt. 1 is the grave of the Sailor Girl just sitting in the parking lot on a raised and gated plot of land.

Stop 16a

The grave of Mary Ellis sits here in the parking lot. She was in love with a sailor who refused to give up the sea. Everyday she would come to this spot and look out into the ocean waiting for her love to come back. She passed away without ever seeing her love again and her family buried her on this spot. The grave is raised up and I tried to climb up the narrow ledges but I wasn’t able to due to the fact that I was afraid of dropping my camera. I was able to capture this by raising the camera above my head but next time I’m here during the day with someone I’m going to actually climb up there and bring flowers.

Stop 16b

As I stood there I tried to imagine what she would have stared out everyday but the view nowadays is a sad one

Stop 16c

Leave a Reply

