“Bound”

I had never really looked at this statue before in Grounds for Sculpture but this time I went over and examined it a bit closer. I realize that I was intrigued with  the fact that she looks like she is bound, but not by anything physical. As you can see from this picture, there are no ropes on the statue to show her as being bound but her pose and the way she has her arms connotate a sense of hopelessness and a feeling of being restricted. I thought the close up of her arms would be striking and give the viewer an overwhelming sense of helplessness.

Leave a Reply

