Bull Sculpture: Grounds for Sculpture – Hamilton, NJ

This weekend was so beautiful and since this was the weekend I got ditched (twice), I decided to go out and have a little fun on my own. I’ve mentioned multiple times how Grounds For Sculpture in Hamilton is one of my favorite places to spend a whole day and since I haven’t been in the area for a year, I wanted to go there the first chance I got. Apparently so did the rest of the Hamilton area because the line to get into the grounds was almost out to the road. The beauty though is that no matter how crowded the grounds may seem, you can wander for hours and never see another person.

Being that it had been a year since coming to the grounds I knew there were going to be a lot of exhibits I had never seen before and this set of statues were the first thing i saw when I walked in. Not that it was hard..they are huge. And right in the middle of one of the walking paths. It was amazing. It was instantly my new favorite piece there and it made me think of the poem by Christina Rossetti, “Goblin Market”. It has always been one of my favorite poems and I find that it’s charm is in how unsettling it is and how the language is beautiful but has an underlying sinister nature to it. You can find the poem here.

“We must not look at goblin men,
We must not buy their fruits:
Who knows upon what soil they fed
Their hungry thirsty roots?”

Leave a Reply

